Excellence Rewarded

Congratulations to Wakatere members recognised at the 2021 Volvo Sailing Excellence Awards

"Whether you were first across the finish line or whether you laid the finish line, you have all played a part in inspiring New Zealanders of all ages and all walks of life to get out on the water and experience what we all love," said YNZ president Ross Blackman. Read on... YNZ news article

  • Service Award: Gary Hill & Ian Young (Windfoil NZ, Wakatere BC)
  • Aon Emerging Talent Award: Tessa Clinton (Wakatere BC)
  • Harken Youth Performance Award: Amelia Angus & Carrington Brady (Wakatere BC)
  • Harken Youth Performance Award: Brayden Hamilton & Seb Menzies (Wakatere BC & Murrays Bay SC)
  • YNZ Performance Award: Paul Snow-Hansen & Daniel Willcox (Wakatere BC & Murrays Bay SC)

Congratulations also to the Wakatere members who were part of Emirates Team New Zealand and claimed the big prize of the night. A well deserved win. 

As a club, we were very fortunate to share the thrills and spills of the America's Cup action at close range. Some of those fly pasts were unforgettable. We wish them well with the next one.       

The Excellence Awards were due to be held during a gala dinner at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron but were moved online due to the ongoing lockdown in Auckland.  The event video is shared here


This product has been added to your cart